Merger Sealed, O Panneerselvam Returns as Chief Minister

April 22 : The two warring factions of AIADMK led by former chief minister O Panneerselvam and incumbent CM Edapadi Palaniswami have finally clinched the  merger.

In a patch up that swaps positions, O Panneerselvam will take over as Tamil Nadu’s chief minister and Palaniswami will step down to replace VK Sasikala as party general secretary.

On Thursday, Panneerselvam put forth two demands , ouster of Sasikala and Dinakaran from the party and CBI probe into death of former Chief Minister Jayalalitha. Palaniswami camp conceded to these demands paving way for merger.

Palaniswami has formed a seven-member committee headed by Rajya Sabha MP R Vaithiyalingam to run day-to-day affairs of the party. It includes ministers C Sreenivasan, KA Sengottaiyan and D Jayakumar among others.

Meanwhile amid heavy security, Dinakaran flew to Delhi today to appear before investigators on case of alleged attempt to bribe an EC official to procure “TWO LEAVES” party symbol for his erstwhile Sasikala faction.

A lookout notice was issued by police given his status as NRI and possibility to flee the country.

Ministers of both factions has Income Tax Dept bringing out greater evidence of stocking demonetized notes and reports say it is ‘vulnerability’ of AIADMK that has prompted present merger.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *