Manipur : 4 More Congress MLAs Defect to BJP

Fri, 28 Apr 2017 : Disillusionment among Congress MLAs continues unabated as four more from the party in Manipur joined ruling Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP) on Friday.

The four leaders who chose to defect are Y Surchandra Singh, Ngamthang Haokip, O Lukhoi and S Bira.

The new entrants walked into a rousing welcome at BJP office greeted by Chief Minister N Biren Singh, state unit president K  Bhabananda and President of Manipur state BJP Kish Bhabananda Singh among others.

Ironically, the walk out comes only a day after Congress leader Rahul Gandhi chaired a meeting to discuss ways to strengthen the party in the North-eastern region.

T Shyamkumar was the  first among MLAs to abandon Congress, he was sworn in as cabinet Minister in BJP-led coalition govt. on March 15.

Congress MLA Ginsuanhau Zou too joined BJP post last Assembly elections. Former Delhi Congress chief Arvinder Singh Lovely took with him Delhi Youth Congress president Amit Malik  when he defected to BJP.

On Thursday, 23 out of 25 party councilors in the Itanagar Municpal Council(IMC) joined BJP in the presence of Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Pema Khandu and BJP state president Tapir Gao in Itanagar.

According to sources close to the party, mass exodus earlier along with latest defections has created an air of uncertainty inside Congress.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.