IPL Qualifier: Knight Riders make an early exit as MI Bowlers shine

Mumbai Indians face the Kolkata Knight Riders in today’s qualifier clash as the two teams who took turns to lead the points table this season face off. Both teams have the element of consistency in their character with slips from grace not lasting for more than a game or two. But there can only be one winner today who advances to tomorrow’s final and that team will be…

MI Won toss and opt to field
Starting XI Lendl Simmons, Parthiv Patel (wk), Rohit Sharma (c), Ambati Rayudu, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Karn Sharma, Mitchell Johnson, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga


KKR To Bat
Starting XI Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine, Gautam Gambhir (c), Robin Uthappa (wk), Ishank Jaggi, Suryakumar Yadav, Colin de Grandhomme, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Piyush Chawla, Umesh Yadav, Ankit Rajpoot



Chris Lynn and Sunil Narine start out for the Knight Riders while Mitchell Johnson leads the attack for Mumbai. Lynn decided to play it safe, probably from the grim reminder of last match where he shot a Six and went out right after. After four balls with no runs he finally gets a decent pull and manages to run twice. He finishes the over with a single. And if the last over got him relaxed, he certainly tried a glory shot that got him Caught. We won’t be witnessing and Lynnsanity today folks. Captain Gautam Gambhir comes on to take his place but he’s unable to make any runs this over. Has the pressure got to the batsmen? The run rate seems pitiable for now. Gambhir gets a Four in the third over followed by Narine’s maximum against Malinga in the fourth. Narine gets stumped in the fifth over as Karn’s googly had too much venom. Score after fifth over 25 – 2.

Jasprit Bumrah comes in swinging as a shaky Uthappa struggles to defend. Bowls on target for his second delivery and Robin had his leg in the way, LBW! A wicket maiden! Karn Sharma came in again and while Gmabhir got his second Four, Karn got his second wicket as the Kolkata captain got Caught Out. Colin de Grandhomme comes to crease for the last ball and is sent packing by Karn as his calculated googly cuts in from straight off and ricochets off de Grandhomme’s leg pad for an LBW. The Kinght Rider batsmen cower as they don’t hit any boundaries much to the frustration of fans finishing the tenth over with a meager 43 – 5.

Suryakumar Yadhav gives the Kinght Riders a slight push opening the eleventh over with a maximum. And Jaggi gets a fence crasher the next over in what would have been impressive a few overs ago but at this point, the ought to do much much more. Suryakumar gets two Fours in the next over and Jaggi reciprocates in the over next to it. Karn Sharma comes into the attack again and this time Jaggi bites the dust, Caught Out by Johnson. Score after fifteenth over 88 – 6.

Hardik Pandya comes in and his deliveries are just too much for the Kolkata duo to take as they get only four runs out of his deliveries. The ball clocks at 140 kph. Johnson comes in and wreaks havoc on KKR side taking Chawla and Nathan Coulter-Nile in his stride from an already wicket hemorrhaging side. NCN did get a maximum before getting Caught Out. Bumrah comes in and yet another batsman falls as Suryakumar Yadhav takes the long walk back after getting Caught Out by Malinga. A Four by Ankit Rajpoot, but no runs follow in the following three deliveries. Then Lasith Malinga comes in to the attack for the nineteenth over in what would be the final nail in the KKR coffin as the Sir Lankan speedster Bowls Rajpoot sending the Kinghts All-Out at a very comfortable 107.


Final Score 107 All Out


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.