Historic : India Wins U-19 World Cup the Fourth Time

New Delhi : India under Prithvi Shaw created history on Saturday, lifting a record  Under-19 World Cup trophy a fourth time, defeating Australia by 8 wickets.

Delhi-boy Manjot Kalra, scored 101 of the 102 balls, the century that upped India to its triumph.

Indian skipper Shaw and Kalra started off strong but Shaw was ousted at 29 runs by Jack Edwards in Australia’s first wicket of the day. Kalra then paired up with Shubman Gill, the left-handed batsman to complete another 50 and tested the crucial century.

Gill fell out at 31.  Harvik Desai joined the unbeaten Kalra and together ramped up India to its victory.

Today’s victory makes India the only country to have won the trophy four times.

The previous title came in Asutralia in 2012 when Unmukt Chand-led team beat Australia on its homeground.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.