Conrad Sangma is next Meghalaya CM; Congress Outsmarted

National People’s Party (NPP) leader Conrad Sangma is all set to be sworn in as next Meghalaya Chief Minister on Tuesday with support from BJP and regional players.

The alliance ends speculation over who would rule the state after February assembly polls failed to yield  a clear majority to any party.

TH NPP, founded by former Lok Sabha speaker PA Sangma, won 19 seats while  United Democratic Party bagged six and the People’s Democratic Front got four, the Hill State People’s Democratic Front and BJP secured two each in a 60-member House.

From the three Independent legislators, Samuel Sangma reportedly pledged his support to Sangma.

Sangma met governor Ganga Prasad on Sunday evening and staked claim to form the government, handing over a letter which stated he had support from 34 MLAs.

With this BJP comes to power in six of seven Northeastern states, barring Mozoram, the lone state where Congress is in power.

Congress which ruled Meghalaya won 21 seats emerging as the single-largest party.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.