Rebuilding Kerala: Rs 10 lakh for small traders, 1 lakh for household things and more

Thiruvananthapuram : Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan today outlined restoration plans in the aftermath of century’s worst flooding that ravaged the state and its people. He was briefing reporters on cabinet decisions at a press conference held in the capital.

Loans to Individuals
Small traders will be provided loans up to Rs 10,00,00. Also people who seek to purchase household items will be given Rs 1,00,00 loan free-of-interest.

The amounts will be allotted via banks through Kudumbashree mission, he said. The interest of these loans will be paid by the government.

An agreement between authorities and a consortium of banks is being made, CM added.

Pampa Project
A high level committee will be appointed, CM said, to rebuild Pampa town and complete temple works before the start of pilgrimage season, chief minister said. The reconstruction works will be carried out by Tata Projects Ltd, he added.

Assessment drive
A special committee comprising voluntary organisations, IT students and others is being appointed to collect data on houses and buildings destroyed in floods. The committee will be supervised by a team including Dr KN Harilal, local self-government department additional secretary R Girija, Dr Saji Gopinath and Dr Joy IIaman.

Donation Campaign
A team of select ministers will visit foreign countries to appeal for donations towards rebuilding flood-hit Kerala. Another such team will do the rounds of states in India too, he added.

“We will approach Malayalis across the world and the ministers will visit foreign countries to seek funds from Malayalis abroad,” chief minister said. The countries targetted are UAE, Oman, Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Kuwit, Singapore, Malaysia, Australia, News Zealand, UK, Germany, USA and Canada.

Ministers in-charge of fundraising for various districts are :

Alappuzha – G Sudhakaran, Thilothaman
Ernakulam – AC Moideen (EP Jayarajan will help)
Idukki – MM Mani
Kannur – EP Jayarajan, KK Shailaja
Kasaragod – E Chandrasekaran
Kollam – J Mercykutty Amma
Kottayam – Thomas Issac, K Raju
Kozhikode – TP Ramakrishnan, AK Saseendran
Malappuram – KT JaleelWayanad – Ramachandran Kadannapally
Palakkad – AK Balan
Pathanamthitta – Mathew T Thomas
Thrissur – C Raveendranath,VS Sunilkumar
Thiruvananthapuram – Kadakampally Surendran

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *