Travel restrictions still in place in European countries

Many countries in the world have travel restrictions in place in a bid to control Covid 19. Some of the stringent restrictions regarding travel have been taken off but still, the borders are not open to everyone.

Here’s a summary of the travel restrictions being enforced across some European countries.


  • Hotels, restaurants, and leisure facilities are now open for summer tourism.
  • A landing ban for flights from South Africa, India, Brazil, and the UK is in effect.
  • Entry to all indoor public spaces requires either a negative COVID test or proof of vaccination.


  • Belgium hopes to kickstart “free and safe” travel following their entry into the EU Digital COVID Certification scheme.
  • Bars and restaurants in Belgium have reopened.
  • Destinations have been split into colour-coded zones, similar to the system in France and the UK.
  • Those entering the country must fill in a Passenger Locator Form (PLF) 48 hours before arrival, and present a negative PCR test taken no earlier than 72 hours before travel.
  • Children will be granted two free PCR tests to encourage family travel.
  • Masks are no longer required in outdoor spaces but remain compulsory in indoor spaces such shops and places of worship.


  • Denmark has started operating a travel pass for fully vaccinated travelers or those who can prove they have had – and recovered from – COVID-19.
  • Fully vaccinated tourists can now travel to Denmark.
  • The country has introduced an exemption for travelers who hold a COVID-19 vaccination certificate.
  • The country is slowly opening up as they have controlled the virus well. They aim to lift all restrictions by 1 October.
  • Restaurants can serve customers indoors if they have been vaccinated or can show a negative test result.
  • Masks are not required outdoors, except on public transport during rush hour and for standing passengers.


  • The French government has announced they will update their COVID-19 vaccination certificate on 22 June in order to streamline with the EU Digital COVID Certificate.
  • This will allow limitless cross-Europe travel using proof of vaccination, a negative test result, or proof of recovery from COVID-19 less than six months ago.
  • Fully vaccinated visitors from the United Kingdom and the United States will still be required to produce a negative test result. But they will no longer have to quarantine and non-essential travel will now be allowed.
  • A traffic light system launched on 4 June allowed 36 countries entry into France with proof of a PCR or antigen test taken within the last 72 hours.
  • Countries classed “red” under the French system include Argentina, Chile, South Africa, India, Pakistan, and Turkey.
  • From 20th June, there will no longer be a curfew and mask-wearing will not be compulsory outdoors “except in certain circumstances: when people gather together when they are in a crowded place, in a queue, on a market or in the stands of a stadium,”


  • Germany has started operating a travel pass for fully vaccinated travelers or those who can prove they have had – and recovered from – COVID-19.
  • Travelers entering the country need to fill out a digital registration form before they travel and must have proof of a negative COVID test.
  • This is expected to change on 1 July when most pandemic travel warnings are expected to lift.
  • Arrivals from other ” areas of variant of concern” are expected to head straight home to quarantine domestically for ten days. A negative PCR test cuts this to five.
  • These countries include Botswana, Brazil, Eswatini, India, Lesotho, Mozambique, Malawi, Nepal, Zimbabwe, Zambia, South Africa, Uruguay, and Northern Ireland.


  • Italy has started issuing and accepting the EUDCC.
  • Entry from Sri Lanka, India, and Bangladesh is banned until 21 June.
  • A nightly curfew is in place in all yellow regions from 11 pm to 5 am. Between 7 and 20 June, curfew is from midnight to 5 am. Curfew ends on 21 June.
  • The country is colour coded, with the majority in yellow zones, meaning outdoor dining is allowed and hotels are open.
  • Mask wearing remains compulsory in public places


  • Temporary restrictions on entry and exit via Russia’s land borders were enforced at the end of March, to be reviewed in June.
  • All arrivals into Russia will be temperature checked and will be required to provide a negative PCR test result upon arrival.


  • Spain has reopened to tourists, providing they can prove they have been vaccinated against COVID-19.
  • Spain is one of the more recent additions to countries partaking in the EUDCC in preparation for the summer.
  • Antigen tests are now accepted instead of PCRs for travelers from countries on the list of risk zones – including France and Germany – while no tests are required for low-incidence areas.

United Kingdom

  • The fourth and final stage of the UK’s ‘lockdown roadmap’ has been delayed due to concerns over the rising Delta variant.
  • The UK has updated its travel restrictions to a traffic light system which includes green, amber and red. 

There are no longer any legal restrictions for international travel but people are strongly discouraged from traveling to countries on the red/amber list. All arrivals into the UK must show a negative PCR test, fill in a passenger locator form, and quarantine for 10 days.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.