Vijay Rupani resigns, Bhupendra Patel becomes the new Gujarat CM; Everything you need to know

Bhupendra Patel, the MLA from Gujarat’s Ghatlodia constituency will be the new chief minister of Gujarat, according to several media reports. He will be sworn in as the chief minister soon and will succeed Vijay Rupani-the former CM. Bhupendra Patel was elected as the Chief Minister at a meeting of BJP MLAs. Vijay Rupani resigned on September 12 and his resignation was prompted by Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s tough stance. The outgoing Vihay Rupani suggested the name of the new CM, Bhupendra Patel.

Vijay Rupani’s sudden resignation surprised many and the reason behind his decision is still unclear. However, there are rumors that Vijay Rupani might have resigned because of his style of functioning during Covid days which had upset the Central leadership. On the top list of BJP leaders, Rupani is the fourth Chief Minister to step down from the post. “It has been a five-year journey for the development of Gujarat under the guidance of PM Modi. Now, to further develop the state, with new energy and power, I have decided to resign as chief minister,” Rupani commented and it was reported by news agency ANI.

The new CM

The new Chief Minister, Bhupendra Patel was born to a Gujarati Kadava Patidar family. He holds a diploma in civil engineering and he was earlier the chairman of the Ahmedabad Urban Development Authority. Patel became a member of the Gujarat Legislative Assembly for the Ghatlodia constituency after winning the 2017 Gujarat Legislative Assembly elections, running against Shashikant Patel of the Indian National Congress. He won by a record margin of 1,17,000 votes. 

There was a talk that Praful Khoda Patel, administrator of the union territories of Lakshadweep would also include among the contenders.

Later, Patel was unanimously elected as the BJP legislative party leader and Chief Minister-elect of Gujarat on 12 September. However, Gujarat is looking forward to see the new reforms and rules of the new Chief Minister.