Nobel Prize in Physics 2021; Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann, and Giorgio Parisi receive the award

After the announcement of the Nobel prize in medicine, the Nobel Prize for physics has been announced and the awardees are scientists from Japan, Germany, and Italy. The scientists Syukuro Manabe, 90, and Klaus Hasselmann, 89, were cited for their work in “the physical modeling of Earth’s climate, quantifying variability and reliably predicting global warming”. The third award winner Giorgio Parisi is rewarded for his revolutionary contributions to the theory of disordered materials and random processes.

Syukuro Manabe holds a Ph.D. from the University of Tokyo, Japan, and is currently working as a Senior Meteorologist at Princeton University in the United States. Klaus Hasselmann is a professor at the prestigious Max Planck Institute in Germany. This is the first time meteorologists have been awarded the Nobel Prize. The third scientist Parisi “built a deep physical and mathematical model” that clearly gave an idea that understands complex systems in fields as different as mathematics, biology, neuroscience, and machine learning.

The panel made it clear that scientists Syukuro Manabe and Hasselmann laid the foundation of our knowledge of the Earth’s climate and how humans influence it. Syukuro Manabe was one of the first researchers to recognize that increasing the presence of carbon dioxide causes a rise in temperature. Klaus Hasselman’s study comes 10 years after reports submitted by Japanese scientist Syukuro Manabe.

The winners were announced on October 5 by Goran Hansson, secretary-general of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. The Nobel season continues in the coming days with the award for chemistry, followed by the much-anticipated prizes for literature, peace, and finally the economic prize on October 11.