ICC T20 World Cup; Shardul Thakur replaces Axar Patel in India Squad

Indian international cricketer and bowling all-rounder Shardul Thakur has been added to India’s squad for T20 World Cup 2021. This is the only change to India’s side named so far before the October 15 deadline. The World Cup has been scheduled to be held in the UAE and Oman from October 17 to November 14. The latest change that replaces Axer Patel with Shardul has been announced on October 13 and the latter being moved into the stand-by players’ list, which also includes Shreyas Iyer and Deepak Chahar. 

The T20 World Cup event was scheduled to start in 2020 but due to the Covid-19 situation, it was suspended and India was all set to host the tournament. Later the final decision came that includes venues Muscat, Dubai, Abu Dhabi, and Sharjah.

Thakur has played 22 T20Is for India and has 31 wickets to his name. He is right-handed and bowls right-arm medium-fast. He plays first-class cricket for Mumbai and has been a member of Chennai Super Kings since 2018. 

BCCI also named eight players who would assist the team in its preparations.

India squad: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami.

Stand-by players: Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Axar Patel.