T20 World Cup 2021; Super 12 teams all set for The Big Battle

The seventh edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup tournament, which started with the preliminary tournaments, is now all set to kick start the super-12 league from October 23  with Australia vs South Africa game at Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi. 

On October 22, the competition for the qualifying group stage reached the end, and 4 teams qualified for the Super 12 round competition. The T20 World Cup qualifier round started officially on October 17 and the teams that made it out of the round were Sri Lanka, Namibia, Scotland, and Bangladesh

Super 12 match

  1. There are three main venues for the T20 World Cup and they are the Dubai International Stadium, Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi, and Sharjah cricket ground.
  1. The super 12 is divided into two groups and each group is named group A and Gropu B. Group A consists of India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Scotland, and Namibia, while Group B has Australia, England, West Indies, South Africa, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka.
  1. The Super 12 stage will see two groups of six teams each playing in a round-robin format.  Following the Super 12 stage, the top two teams from each group will qualify for the semifinals.
  1. The stage will begin with a doubleheader in Group B. Australia will be up against South Africa while defending champions, following that West Indies, take on England in the evening match. First Round qualifiers Sri Lanka and Bangladesh then start their Super 12 campaign on 24 October at Sharjah. Favorites, India will start its ICC T20 World Cup against its arch-rivals Pakistan at Dubai International Stadium on October 24. 
  1. Group 1 will conclude on 6 November with matches between Australia and West Indies in Abu Dhabi, and England and South Africa in Sharjah whereas group 2 will on 8 November, with India taking on Namibia.
  1. Fixing Abu Dhabi and Dubai as the venues, the semi-final matches will be held on November 10 and 11. 
  1. The actual fight between the teams is going to take place soon where the tournament’s final is scheduled to be played on 14 November 2021.

Read Also: ICC T20 World Cup; Shardul Thakur replaces Axar Patel in India Squad

However, there was due to be a preceding 2020 T20 World Cup held in Australia from 18 October to 15 November 2020, but in July 2020, the ICC confirmed that this tournament had been postponed, due to the Covid pandemic. In August 2020, the ICC confirmed that India would host the 2021 tournament as planned, with Australia being named as the host for the succeeding 2022 tournament. However, in June 2021, the ICC announced that the tournament had been moved to the United Arab Emirates due to growing concerns over the Covid-19 pandemic situation in India and a possible third wave of the pandemic in the country.