India out of T20 World Cup as New Zealand beat Afghanistan, Semi-final matches confirmed; All you need to know

India was eliminated from the race of semi-final of the T20 World Cup as New Zealand comfortably reached the semi-finals after defeating Afghanistan by eight wickets. The elimination of team India is a massive blow to tournament organizers, with India being its largest and most profitable broadcasting market, and as well as the team’s weaknesses it has exposed issues with the World Cup’s format and schedule.

India had been eagerly waiting to know whether the match between New Zealand and Afghanistan would help India to reach the T20 semi-final round as there was a hope to get through the door if Afghanistan win the match. But the wait was of no use and New Zealand easily got access to the next level. However, India has one more match left with them and it is with Namibia.

Meanwhile, on November 7, Pakistan thrashed Scotland by 72 runs in their last Twenty20 World Cup Super 12 match in Sharjah to set up a semi-final clash against Australia. Thus  Pakistan and New Zealand made it from Group 2. England and Australia have already made the semi-finals from Group 1.

Group 1 went down to the wire, with the teams having to wait till the final match, which was England v South Africa, for the top two to be clear. Both England and Australia won four out of five games in the group, with England taking the top spot based on net run rate. South Africa too won four games in the group but missed out on the net run rate.

Pakistan is the only team among the four to be unbeaten so far. They won all games in Group 2, while New Zealand won four of their five matches, confirming their place in the top two with a win over Afghanistan in their final match.

Read Also: Consecutive losses for India in T20 World Cup; Road ahead is tough for the team, here’s a look

The real game is thus yet to start and the four teams on the race are Pakistan, England, Australia, and New Zealand. 

The fixtures:

  1. Semi-final 1: England v New Zealand at Abu Dhabi, 10 November
  2. Semi-final 2: Pakistan v Australia at Dubai, 11 November

The matches start at 6:00 pm local time.