YouTube to hide ‘dislike’ counts from public to protect content creators from harassment; Details

To reduce “stress and embarrassment” for creators, the social media platform, Youtube has decided to hide the dislike counts on a video in the app. The decision was taken to protect the creator community from targeted attacks on its platform. However, the change hasn’t been rolled out fully yet and YouTube’s announcement has received 53,000 dislikes so far.

In the official blog, YouTube announced, “the platform is making dislike counts private across YouTube, but the dislike button is not going away. The rollout will be done gradually.” According to the latest announcement, the dislike button won’t be removed. It will in fact still be present next to the like button. People will still be able to dislike any video, but it will not be shown to the viewers or any users for that matter. It is however important to note that creators will still be able to view dislike count in the studio.

To improve positive interactions between creators and viewers, YouTube has been working to add new features to the app. 

YouTube statement read “We experimented with the dislike button to see whether or not changes could help better protect our creators from harassment and reduce dislike attacks.” YouTube further said, “we want to create an inclusive and respectful environment where creators have the opportunity to succeed and feel safe and express themselves.”

However, the decision by company has been getting a lot of comments saying that it would discourage a lot of trolling and a lot of mean-spirited people on the internet. 

Read Also: Youtube premium subscribers can now turn on picture-in-picture on iPhone; Here’s how to get it

As a result, creators will still be able to view their dislike counts on YouTube Studio, along with other statistics about the videos they upload. Moreover, viewers will still be able to use the dislike button, as it will also help YouTube to recommend better videos to them. However, the dislike count will not be available on a video for the public. As and when a user dislikes the video, the feedback will be shared with the creators privately.