Rajasthan cabinet reshuffle; 15 ministers take oath

15 ministers took oath on November 21 as part of a cabinet reshuffle in Rajasthan. Hours after the oath-taking of 15 ministers, six MLAs including three Independents, have been appointed advisers to Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot in Rajasthan on November 21.

The 15 ministers include four Dalits, three tribals, and three women, one of whom is from the minority community. The reshuffle was done in view of the upcoming 2023 Assembly elections in Rajasthan. This is the first cabinet reshuffle of the Gehlot government, which came to power in December 2018.

Congress MLAs Jitendra Singh, Rajkumar Sharma, and Danish Abrar have been appointed as advisors in the cabinet. In the reorganization in which the party sought to create new leadership, all stakeholders had multiple messages. 

According to a list released by the Chief Minister’s Office, independent legislators Babu Lal Nagar, Sanyam Lodha, and Ramkesh Meena have also been appointed advisers to Mr. Gehlot’s cabinet. However, the expansion is not Pilot-centric either. 

Three ministers, Govind Singh Dotasra, Harish Chaudhary, and Raghu Sharma have been dropped and their resignations have been accepted by the governor on recommendation of the chief minister while three ministers Mamta Bhupesh, Tikaram Jully, and Bhajan Lal Jatav.

Mr. Gellot earlier had said that those who did not make it to the cabinet would be reassigned to other political appointments, and the cabinet has a total of 30 ministers including 18 who had resigned earlier. According to sources, the cabinet also features three women – a Muslim, one from the SC community, and a Gujjar.

“The party high command and the chief minister have taken a balanced stand. All regional and social equations have been considered in the cabinet reshuffle,” a party leader said.

Read Also: Rajasthan cuts off internet to prevent cheating in the exam; millions affected

“Since there were limitations, it was not possible to accommodate everyone who had expectations. For this, 15 parliamentary secretaries and seven advisers to the Chief Minister will be appointed and other political appointments will also be made,” the leader said.