Assembly elections 2022; 5 states ready to vote from February 10; Here are the things to note

The Election Commission of India on January 8 announced the schedule for the assembly elections 2022 in 5 states- Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Goa, Manipur, and Uttarakhand. The polling body said, the first phase will be held on February 10, the second phase on February 14, the third phase on February 20, the fourth phase on February 23, the fifth phase on February 27, the sixth phase on March 3, the seventh phase on March 7 and the counting of votes will be held on March 10.

After the announcement by EC, the states are now ready to cast their votes, and here are the details regarding the current status of each state. 


Uttarpradesh will go to the polling booth, the first among the other 4 states and the polling starts from February 10 onwards. The election will be held in seven phases in this state. In UP, which has 403 seats, the BJP won 312 seats in 2017 whereas SP won 47 seats and BSP 19 seats. In 2021, BJP stood with a seat of 265 which is 2017, increased to 312 in the state. Meanwhile, the seats of BSP and SP declined at a point. The SP dropped from 224 to 47 in 2017, BSP dropped from 80 to 19. Congress, the fourth largest party in the country, won 28 seats in 2012 and only seven in 2017. Now each party is keeping its eyes on the upcoming assembly elections in 2022.


Punjab has the second-highest number of Assembly seats after UP among the other states which are ready to go for polling booths in February. Of these five states, Punjab is the only state ruled by Congress which is also a specialty when Punjab has been considered. The state will go to the polling booth for assembly elections on February 14. 

The previous elections were held in February 2017. After the election, Indian National Congress formed the state government, with Amarinder Singh becoming Chief Minister. INC won 77 out of 117 total seats and landslide victory pushed the ruling alliance between Shiromani Akali Dal(SAD) and the Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP) to third place with only 18 seats. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) came in second, winning 20 seats and forming the official opposition in Punjab. 

Read Also: North India gears up for election; EC announces schedule for Assembly elections in 5 states


With 40 constituencies, the state, Goa will go to the polls on February 14. The vote will be counted on March 10. The previous assembly elections were held in February 2017. After the election, a coalition of Bharatiya Janata Party, Goa Forward Party, and Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party formed the state government, with Manohar Parrikar becoming Chief Minister.

Goa has been ruled by the BJP for the last 10 years with Pramod Sawant, the current Chief Minister of Goa. This is the first assembly election in Goa after the death of Manohar Parrikar. Apart from the Congress, the Aam Aadmi Party and the Trinamool Congress will be the BJP’s rivals in Goa. Moreover, Trinamool is contesting in Goa for the first time.


The people of Uttarakhand will cast their votes on February 14, 2022 in the elections to 70 assembly constituencies and the counting will be done on March 10. The BJP, which currently rules Uttarakhand, came to power in 2017 with a clear lead of 57 seats. After the election in 2017, Bharatiya Janata Party formed the State government, with Trivendra Singh Rawat becoming Chief Minister.

On 2 July 2021, Tirath Singh resigned from his post to avoid a constitutional crisis in the state. On 3 Following the resignation, Pushkar Singh Dhami was sworn in as the 10th Chief Minister of Uttarakhand, assuming office on 4 July 2021.


The state, Manipur will go to the polls on February 27 in the first phase and on March 3 in the second phase. In 2017, Congress won 35.1 percent of the vote in the state, but the BJP, which had won 36 percent of the vote, ousted the MLAs and captured the rule over the state. 

The decision regarding who rules the state depends upon the votes and seat division with leading Congress, BJP along with NPP, NPF in the state. Congress also hopes that the traditional vote will support it. 

Moreover, as per EC directions, on the polling day, 18.34 crore voters will exercise their right to vote in the polling booths. All polling stations will be on the ground floor where the venue welcomes 24.9 lakh, debut voters on this day. There are 11.4 lakh women and 2.16 lakh polling stations and a maximum of 1250 voters are allowed in each station.