CM Pushkar Dhami loses seat; BJP rewrites history of Uttarakhand that no government can continue to rule

In the Uttarakhand Assembly elections, incumbent BJP Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami lost to the Congress candidate by 6951 votes. With this, the usual pattern of losing chief ministers has not changed this time either. At the same time, the BJP is trying to rewrite the history of Uttarakhand that no government can continue to rule.

Although several exit polls had predicted a hung assembly in Uttarakhand with the Congress and BJP in a close fight, the situation favored BJP. Along with Pushkar Dhami,  Congress leader Harish Rawat also lost in the elections. Meanwhile, Harish Rawat’s daughter Anupama Rawat won. Anupama is contesting from the Haridwar Rural Assembly constituency. Harish Rawat has been far behind since the polls began.

Even though the Congress, in its election manifesto, promised to keep the price of LPG cylinders below Rs 500, jobs, monetary allowance to five lakh families, better health facilities, and 40 percent reservation for women in government jobs, it appears people voted on the issues of national security, army welfare, and religious tourism. This might be one of the reasons for the defeat of Congress in the Uttarakhand elections. 

Read Also: Goa, Uttarakhand assembly election kicks off, UP enters the second phase; Details

The BJP had a star list of campaigners. Prime Minister Narendra Modi was in the state for at least three days, Home Minister Amit Shah, party president JP Nadda, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, and even Uttar Pradesh CM Yogi Adityanath held several rallies in the state ahead of elections. 

In the Khatima constituency, Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami lost to Congress candidate Bhuvan Chandra Capri by 6932 votes. In the state, BJP is leading with 47  out of 70 assembly seats while Congress has 19 lead points. The BJP, which is leading in 47 seats, has consolidated its rule. For the first time in history, the BJP is continuing to rule in Uttarakhand.