Two new countries apply to join the BRICS group of emerging countries; Details

The world’s largest gas reservers, Iran has submitted an application to become a member of the group of emerging economies known as the BRICS according to an Iranian official. The BRICS group already includes Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa and will add Iran to its group if every procedure is on the right track. 

Along with Iran, the south American country, Argentina has also applied to join the BRICS group. However,  Argentinian officials could not be reached for immediate comment. Argentina’s desire to join the BRICS group was announced by the Russian Foreign Ministry spokeswoman Maria Zakharova. “When the White House thought about what else in the world should be turned off, banned, or destroyed, Argentina and Iran applied to join the BRICS,” said the Russian spokesperson. 

Brics is a term coined to associate five major emerging economies: the Federative Republic of Brazil, the Russian Federation, the republic of India, the People’s Republic of China, and the Republic of South Africa. The BRICS members are known for their significant influence on world affairs. Since 2009, the governments of the BRICS states have met annually at formal summits. China hosted the most recent 14th BRICS summit on 24 June 2022 virtually. 

Read Also: Australia gets new PM; Anthony Albanese sworn in ahead of Tokyo Summit

Iran’s membership in the BRICS group would result in added values for both sides, Iran’s Foreign Ministry spokesperson said. Russia said Argentina had also applied to join. Meanwhile, the United States and other Western nations have pledged immovable support to Ukraine after 28 civilians were killed in several Russian attacks, including a missile attack on a busy shopping center.